Meet the 2019 AASL Candidates – Independent Schools Section Chair-Elect

The 2019 ALA/AASL election season is just around the corner! AASL is continuing the tradition of using the KQ website as a space for you to learn more about those standing for election on the AASL ballot. Candidates for the 13 open positions were asked to answer the question “What Shared Foundation speaks to you, and how does it apply to you as a leader in the association?” and provide a short introductory video.

As you read the candidates’ responses over the coming days, think of what you want the future of your professional organization to be. The votes we cast will determine the future of our association, so mark your calendar to cast your vote beginning March 11 and be sure your local and state peers are casting their informed votes as well. School librarians are a critical part of the American library ecosystem and voting in our association election is a clear way to demonstrate our voice, our power, and our fervent desire for the strongest future for school libraries!

The candidates for the Independent Schools Section (ISS) Chair-Elect are:

  • Thaddeus Andracki
  • Bianca N. Spurlock

Statements and/or videos were a voluntary option offered to all candidates.

Thaddeus Andracki


Bianca N. Spurlock

I think the Shared Foundation of Collaboration is something that I apply to my type of leadership. When we work together to achieve our goals, the response and result can only be a strong one. I think the only way to achieve things is by admitting one person is not the catalyst for change, but one of many containers for ideas, and we shouldn’t expect to do things alone. Different points of view, methods, and experiences can only benefit us in the end. We are not only crafting global citizens but being global citizens ourselves. But reaching beyond the walls of the library in an effort to provide authentic voices and experiences, we can then tackle any number of the other shared foundations.


Author: Steven Yates

Steven Yates is an assistant professor and coordinator of the school library media certification program at the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Alabama. He earned a doctor of philosophy in instructional leadership with an emphasis in instructional technology in 2017.

Categories: Community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.